Learning from or learning with?

As time goes on and I learn more and more I find myself wondering ‘Did I ever learn from an ICT or with an ICT?’ As I begin to plan for learning experiences of the future students I intend to teach I am beginning to believe this is an extremely important distinction to make! When we learn from an ICT it is almost expected that as if by magic or osmosis that the new knowledge and now inserted in my brain and therefore I have learnt. By teaching myself to teach with ICT’s I believe my students will benefit far greater as they engage and are interested in the learning that is requiring them to think and work in transformed ways.

I found some great information for Teachers on this website from InfoDev that describes in detail some key strategies and ways we can begin to use ICTs more effectively in our pedagogical practices. Have a look here.

Leave a Reply

